Melt Pool too Deep

Hello Everyone! I am a hobbyist looking to make candles to give as gifts and I've been testing candles since May of this year. I use BW 908 Paraffin/Soy mix with a 12% fragrance load in a 3" diameter vessel. I get a great HT, but my melt pool can get as deep as 2 inches which isn't safe. I've tried every CD and ECO wick size and the end result is always a very deep melt pool. Someone mentioned to me to lower my FO % by half and that should resolve the melt pool issue. 

Can adding too much FO have a negative impact on how deep a candles melt pool is? I've tried other waxes with every size of CD and ECO wick and the end result is the same very deep melt pool. 

• Like 1

5 hours ago, MariahWhite said:

Hello Everyone! I am a hobbyist looking to make candles to give as gifts and I've been testing candles since May of this year. I use BW 908 Paraffin/Soy mix with a 12% fragrance load in a 3" diameter vessel. I get a great HT, but my melt pool can get as deep as 2 inches which isn't safe. I've tried every CD and ECO wick size and the end result is always a very deep melt pool. Someone mentioned to me to lower my FO % by half and that should resolve the melt pool issue. 

Can adding too much FO have a negative impact on how deep a candles melt pool is? I've tried other waxes with every size of CD and ECO wick and the end result is the same very deep melt pool. 

Hello and welcome!

Absolutely, yes. Everything you add to a base wax changes the wax properties.  Imagine adding 12% of mineral oil to your wax. It would change the melt point, melt properties, and likely the stability of the wax when unlit as well.