Blending Waxes - Soy blends

I'm new to the game and started a couple months ago testing.  I watched so many videos, it sounds so simple and I new it wouldn't be but after test 25-30 candles with combinations of waxes and wicks I've yet to find a combination I'm happy with.  I was curious to see how many of you experienced makers blend waxes for your formula.  I've tried 464 and bees wax and it looks great, just trying to get the right wick.  I like 464 and have had some good candles, burn to edges all the way down, not too hot on the vessel, just not the smoothness after burns I've seen with some of the candles I've purchased from other handmade makers online.  Just curious what combination is your go to.

I suggest learning a wax as-is before blending. Beeswax and soy “can” be nice but will always present challenges as far as wicking. Soy and beeswax generally require different size “straws”.

Beeswax all by itself burns best in a taper or pillar form using bleached square wick. 

soy burns best in a container with other braids, such as flat (cd, htp, etc.) soy can use bleached square, but bleached square tends to tip/lean and sag in the softened molten wax of a container. 

Soy as you’ve learned is not pretty after a burn. Different components of the soy blend you’re using melt and are consumed at different rates leaving behind rough unattractive tops. many people just embrace the ugly and are perfectly happy. Others get into a blending loop that can quickly become overwhelming. 

if you like the idea of soy but want a more attractive candle, I’d suggest a parasoy such as igi6006. Or a CBL blend from candlewic. Or a Clarus 3022. Many to choose from. Paraffin helps lube the soy crystals and stabilize the unstable polymorphic nature of soy wax.