Testing

Hello Everyone, 

I'm very new to candle making but so far its been fun and exciting.  Can someone give me some tips on the many things I should be testing for?  I've found the basic process to be fairly simple but in order to get the best performance, look, burn time, etc there seems to be many more things I need to learn.  Any tips on this?  Thanks so much!

Gosh, this is a huge question. 
A number of presentations to the candle industry have been shared. Here’s one of several:

http://www.eca-candles.com/pdf/WorldCandleCongress/ASTM Standards and the Candle Industry - Becker Moss.pdf

safety first, deferring to ASTM’s most recent published standard 2417-17. 

flame height proportional to the size of the candle. ASTM guidelines limit overall flame height for candles to be burned indoors at 3”.  Obviously a flame of that height on a tea light or small jar, or multi wicked candle would be downright dangerous regardless of the limit.

no materials that would cause secondary ignition, such as combustible container, dried botanicals, glitters, etc inside (or out that could possibly be if it by a spark from the lit candle)

absolutely no chance for secondary ignition of the candle itself, such as flashing over from candle exceeding safe working temps, and/or from fragrance flashing over. 

absolutely no cracking of glass container that could cut or eject shards. 

containers that can withstand direct flame. Example polycarbonate tea light cups must withstand direct flame for a specific period of time for a minimum number of cycles.  Non-traditional containers (ie potentially combustible like wooden dough bowls, drilled out wood planks, etc.) should not be used as they will not withstand direct flame Contact.

Minimal carbon ball formation. ASTM limits carbon ball size to 7mm.

minimal afterglow when extinguished. The figure I recall was fewer than 15 seconds, but will confirm.