FO melding time.

I tried a new FO on Friday, Frank & Myrrh at 6%, and I noticed that at first a portion was sitting on the bottom of the wax, not being absorbed by the wax. By the time I have finished pouring and reheating for the final pour, all the FO had been absorbed. So I was wondering, does it take a couple of minutes for some Fo's to be absorbed. I noticed this also with a vanilla Fo, but I though at first that maybe I have put in to much FO.

Can you tell yet that I'm a newbie. By the way I was using parafin.

Wondering,

Tracey

Some people say that warming those FOs a bit with hot water is helpful. I've never understood why since they get hot the moment they hit the wax and still don't mix, but I haven't tried it yet and maybe it works.

Apart from that, all I can tell you is that "a few minutes" can be pretty optimistic with some of these fragrances. The last one I ran into took 1/2 hour to incorporate. In these cases I lower the heat (it only helps so much) and let it sit for a while between stirring sessions. Time can be a factor in and of itself.

I don't think you should pour until it's really fully mixed. They all get soaked up eventually.

Warming them beforehand, does help a bit. The FO doesn't heat up as quickly as you might think, when it hits the wax. Especially if it's gotten cold enough to crystalize. At 6% you're adding quite a bit of cold liquid to the mix. Drop an ice cube into 20 oz. of boiling water... it will take a minute or two to melt.

Of course, heat is one of the most common catalysts in chemistry.

The only time I've had this problem was with the vanilla based scents.

Warming them beforehand, does help a bit. The FO doesn't heat up as quickly as you might think, when it hits the wax. Especially if it's gotten cold enough to crystalize. At 6% you're adding quite a bit of cold liquid to the mix. Drop an ice cube into 20 oz. of boiling water... it will take a minute or two to melt.