Picking fragrances for candles

sakuraserra

Hello! I'm new to making candles and looking at buying my starting supplies and wonder what's the best way to go about picking out fragrance oils? Since you can't smell before you buy should I just do the sample kits to start? Orrrr should I just get a couple scents and work with that for now. And how do you get past the fear of mixing (I'm no where near the level of being able to just mix mix mix, 1 scent at a time is enough for me). But I look around at other candlers and you all are so fearless when it comes to scents, how do you get past it?

Edited by sakuraserra

Welcome and some sensible questions that you are asking. As for which scents to choose, if you cant sniff, then you only have either the descriptions listed on the website to go by, with perhaps some reviews, or recommendations from people here who have perhaps bought those particular oils. Even then it is still a guessing game as what smells devine to one person smells like vomit to another. read the descriptions and choose a couple that you think you may like to try and then go for it. As long as you are only buying 1 oz samples you do not have too much to loose.

As for mixing, well that will come in time and with experience. Some things go with other things and some just dont, but that is something that you will learn, and both your nose and your customers will let you know how successful you may be at it. The main thing is to have fun and enjoy it, and learn the basics. Once you have mastered one or two oils and a particular jar (if that is what you are planning on making), then and only then move onto the next oils or two. Trust me, we all would love to run before we walk, but it is the easist way to get frustrated and to stop enjoying it all.

Good luck, and keep on reading the forums for more advice and suggestions.

Richard