Help in Finding Samples

CandleCrazyGal

Hello All! I'm fairly new to candle making and have been pouring over the forums trying to find out as much info as possible -- and my there is a LOT! :)

I wanted to know if any of you have advice on where I can order samples from without spending an arm and a leg. I know AH/RE has 10 samples for $20.00 but I want to try a few different places without breaking the bank. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

CCG

Welcome to the addiction. Just a quick word of advice which you can choose to ignore if you so wish.

I would start with only a couple of different scents to begin with. You also have your wax, jars, wicks, or tart molds to choose as well. if you try to do too much, you are just going to totally frustrate yourself before you even get started.

Choose a few scents that you think you may like. Depending on the jar / melt size, these may be either 1 oz or 4 oz samples. I typically now choose 4 oz as that give me the ability to make a number of jars / wax / wick combinations to ensure myself that I both like the oil, and that it works for me in MY system.

Making a candle is a system and you are going to have to do much reading and testing to work out just what it is that works for you.

As I said, this is advice you can take or leave. Just my humble opinion and trying to assist you so as you don't get too frustrated before you have even started.

Richard

Edited by RichardLOZ

Thank you Richard! Any and all advice is most welcome. I am going to start out by focusing on tarts as that is my favorite way to scent my home (with less fear of burning the house down! :) ). I have begun the search for tart molds and am now weighing the pros/cons of clamshells vs silicone molds. But you are right, I need to keep my enthusiasm in check so I don't burn out before I learn to fly. :)