Help me here fellow crafters

katshe

I just emailed WSP to ask if I add 50% water to their Satin & Silk lotion base ...what preservative do I need or would be best.

WSP RESPONSE

YOu really don't need a preservative if you are just adding water, color and fo

I also asked if I was to add just butter(shea or cocoa) to the base

How much could be added and does it need added preservative.

WSP RESPONSE

If you are adding the shea butter, you will need a preservative.

The precentages are on the preservative page[/b]

OK , Ive been making soap and scrubs for longer that 5 years now and I know anytime you add water to something it needs a preservative and

WSP site for this lotion in the description says.....

Quote " If more than 5% additives are incorporated into the base, the current preservative system will be diluted and additional preservative will be required.

I did find my answer in their forum that 20% water can be added without separation and the water should be preserved with Germaben II or germall plus llquid at .5%-1% reccommended by their moderater of wsp forum.

Am I crazy?

Still not sure bout the shea butter... I suppose if i only add 5% or less is should be fine...again I thought if adding oils/butters that it didn't need preservative unless water would be and issue.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Since emulsification is based on the amount of the oil phase, not the water phase, of a product you can add up to 100% water to a lotion without experiencing separation, as this is an oil-in-water emulsion. I.e., the rate of emulsifier is based on the percentage of the oils phase, so if you add to the oil phase then you would have to increase the emulsifier. You can continue to add as much water as you need to a recipe without adjusting the emulsifier. I also saw that thread on their forum, and posted this there. I don't know where they are getting this 20% from, but rest assured you can go higher.