New to Soap Making

psfponies

I'm also new to soap making and took the plunge about a month ago or so. I have about 8 batches under my belt now. I started by reading, reading, reading... There are tons of threads on this forum for beginners, as well as some good tutorials in the tutorial section. I am having so much fun, and I have more soap than I know what to do with! Good luck.

Hi I am wanting to start making soap but I am not sure where to even start. And anyone suggest what would be best for a beginner.

You can check out my website - http://www.colormekevin.com/soap

I don't sell anything there, and I haven't redone the site in YEARS (I'm going to put up a new, more updated how to guide soon, as well as some videos - the site was made when I was a bit more of a newbie without the experience I now have) but if you click soapmaking 101, there is a step by step with pictures.

I'll put up some recipes within the next couple weeks to.

Also, get Susan Miller Cavitch's 2 books on soap making - you can get them at any bookstore, or on amazon. They're AMAZING for a first time soaper, or someone who's advanced.

Hope that helps.

I'm also new to soap making and took the plunge about a month ago or so. I have about 8 batches under my belt now. I started by reading, reading, reading... There are tons of threads on this forum for beginners, as well as some good tutorials in the tutorial section. I am having so much fun, and I have more soap than I know what to do with! Good luck.

Be very careful if you start making goat's milk soaps.....they're more work, but you'll be soooo addicted to them you'll find yourself making them non-stop. you'll become a slave to the milksoaps!

Be very careful if you start making goat's milk soaps.....they're more work, but you'll be soooo addicted to them you'll find yourself making them non-stop. you'll become a slave to the milksoaps!