CDN CD side by side using GB 415

GB 415

1.3 oz FO

dye

16 oz elevation jar

at the largest diameter it is 4 inches

The first 4 photos are CD 2nd 4 are CDN

If I size down on the wicks they drown out at 1/3 to 1/2 way down the jar

this is the first burn and as you can see much more mushrooming going on with the CDs

Sorry the 4th and 8th photos are a previous test . They have been burned many more times I will not include them next time

post-11200-139458468758_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468762_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468766_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468771_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468775_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468778_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468782_thumb.jpg

post-11200-139458468785_thumb.jpg

Edited by lrbd

I just had a thought ... Do you think it may be possible that I can wick down with the CD ... I know I can't with the CDN as stated above but I have never used CDs before . I can pull the wicks if I need to they are not glued down for testing .

I have had all kinds of wick performance issues with GB 415. Mainly they involve wicks drowning out for no good reason. I've compared notes with a friend of mine who is a fairly large candle producer and a great tester, and our experiences are identical. I used ECO, CD and CDN, all to no avail. He tested with zinc. We each tested more than one batch. We even found than the burn problems carried over to blends (including parasoy) containing GB 415.

That fact that my friend and I had the same results doesn't seem like it could be a coincidence. My only explanation for why more people don't remark on it is that maybe people have different expectation for what kind of burn qualities are normal. All I know is, when I (and my friend) compare with other soy waxes (including other GB waxes and ostensibly similar products like Candlewic Soy-125), the difference in burn quality is like night and day. Other waxes burn like a dream in comparison and you can use any wick size you need.