testing tiny jars

Hi,

I am testing some teeny tiny jars (1.5 oz.). They are about 1 inch across and a little taller. I have never used jars this tiny before. I previously used 2.5 oz. jars but they were shorter and fatter at about 2 inches across. How would you guys test these things? Would you follow the one inch/one hour rule for the first test? If so, that means I would only let it burn for one hour. I feel pretty sure that most people would burn the candle for longer than one hour. I'm thinking I might break the rule and burn for two hours at a time on the first test and then do a power burn.

Anybody have any thoughts?

TIA

Deb

Personally, I test votives poured in teeny jars the same way as I test 6" pillars - 1 hour per inch of diameter. When I get the wicking correct, then I do a power burn to ensure the wick isn't too hot and won't heat the container too much for safety.

1"an hour is almost impossible to get with the 1.5ozers. If you try for the 1" an hour they will drown out, because of the neck size when they burn down there will not be enough air getting to the wick. When I used them I wicked most fo's with millcreek's votive size wick.

1"an hour is almost impossible to get with the 1.5ozers. If you try for the 1" an hour they will drown out, because of the neck size when they burn down there will not be enough air getting to the wick.

I have had no problem getting my little glass votives to burn for an hour at a time (or more or less). The "1 hour of burn per 1" of diameter" rule of thumb works great for me. If the wicking is right, they should burn just fine without drowning. If they drown, the wicking ain't right. There are several small wick sizes from which one can choose. Some work better then do others, depending on the container, shape, diameter, wax & FO used...