Cp Vs Hp

lovebug7480

Hey everyone, I'm brand new to soap making and was wondering what some of the advantages and disadvantages are to CP and HP soapmaking. I'm trying to decide which to try first. Which method do you guys prefer and for what reasons? Thanks so very much for any info!

Well, personally, I prefer HP...but that was after I'd CP'd a few times. I was glad I had done that though..'cause it gave me a feel of what the soaping process was before I went to HP. Sorry can't offer any other advice on which to start with. There are others here that have really good advice on this stuff.

Oh and believe me...be prepared for addiction. :D

For me, I HP first, liked the process, however, I did not like the appearance of my soaps. Tried CP and have been addicted to CP ever sense. Largely, due to the appearance of my soaps. One of the difference that I know of is with HP you are basically cooking your ingredients and it is partically ready for immediate use, CP as I have been told is ready for immediate use if you do the CPOP, which is my method of choice. As for me, I normally don't use my soaps (CPOP) until a week or two later. HTH

BTW, I am no expert so I am sure the more seasoned soapers will chime in.

I like cp because of the texture of the soap. Also, if you want to swirl, you'll want to do cp. Hp is difficult to swirl. Another reason for cp...it doesn't take as long. You mix the ingredients together, and it's soap. Hp requires a certain amount of time to cook.

The down side of cp is that you shouldn't use it right away. You can cut the curing time by discounting your water amount, but you still need to wait awhile to use it. I like to wait a month, but you can certainly use it sooner than that. It just gets milder with time.