Black Smoke

I am totally new to candlemaking and after reading your threads I realized that I had never tested any of the materials that I was so anxiously using to make container candles. I have made a 5 oz candle in an apothecary jar and when I tried to light it I am getting a lot of black smoke from the flame. I am using 44-32-18 zinc core pre tabbed wicks. what could be causing the black smoke? Please help:confused:

Without knowing details my first question would be did you start off with a wick that was trimmed WAY down? Your wick should be no taller than 1/4 inch when you light your candle. Sometimes a long wick will smoke like a choo choo train no matter what kind it is. If that's not the case then we definitely need more details in order to help.

I am new to candlemaking. Unfortunately, I didn't think to measure my stuff until after joining this website. I used single pour container wax IGT 4630A from peakecandle.com with no additives (they said it needed none) (I also got my wicks there) and Fresh cut roses FO from candlewic.com. I just kind of poured the FO in until it smelled nice. That is all that is in it. The flames are big and the smoke stopped after 30 minutes. Any ideas.

Without knowing details my first question would be did you start off with a wick that was trimmed WAY down? Your wick should be no taller than 1/4 inch when you light your candle. Sometimes a long wick will smoke like a choo choo train no matter what kind it is. If that's not the case then we definitely need more details in order to help.

That might be it! the flames are huge and it stopped smoking after 30 minutes. It has what appears to be a nice pool. But I think my wick is too long. :laugh2: