Am I overwicking?

I am new to making candles and am looking for your help in troubleshooting my issue.

I am using cb135 and some fragrances (1oz per lb of wax) that should throw in wax, from CS and from Peaks. I am using 6oz and 9oz containers. I have a great cold throw but not a very good hot throw. With the LX wicks I get a great melt pool (though much too fast - edge to edge in less than 2 hours for the 9oz). I thought it was the size of the room I was burning the candle in, as if I put one in the bathroom I get a bit more throw., but I've found that if I waft or sniff above the candle there is hot throw there it's just going straight up. Does this mean I am wicking up too much? My HTP and RRD wicks are having a similar issue, though I thought they'd be better since I was able to use smaller wicks (I have to get some smaller LX wicks). The melt pool for these is slower to reach the edge and generally reaches the same depth as the LX. Due to the RRD and HTP wicks curling I do end up with a bit on the sides remaining after burning, not too bad though.

Here are the diameter to wick combos I'm testing and having little luck with.

6oz - 2.5"d by 3.25h - 24LX, 40RRD, 83HTP

9oz - 2.75"d by 3.5"h - 24LX, 26LX, 47RRD, 104HTP

Should I wick down on any of these?

Thanks for your help!

Jennifer

Based on what you are saying for the 9oz. I would say yes, you are over wicking. 2.75" in only two hours (especially on the first burn) indicates you are over wicking - and perhaps you are just burning up the FO instead of "throwing" it. I would wick down on that one. Or, go up to 9% (1.5 oz per pound) and see what you think.

I can tell you that I was burning a little paraffin votive all by itself the other day. I walked out of the room to the porch to put something away and right back in - and it was filling the entire (large) room. Unfortunately this wasn't one of MY candles but it goes to show you that you may just have "candle nose" too!

:)