Gritty body butter

Christina

I tried making my first body butter the other day. It works well, and firmed up (I was worried that it'd be really soft), it looks greasy to begin with after application but sinks in quite quickly and is nice. My problem is, it's not smooth. I didn't use any shae butter. And this isn't a recipe I made up.

The website that had the recipe didn't have instructions with it (and like I said, this is my first try). So, I melted the cocoa butter, then added the beeswax, then the rest of the stuff, let it stay hot for a while, made sure it looked nice and clear, then I let it cool down a bit and used my hand mixer (just cause I'm always hearing everyone doing that...I told you I'm new at this), and I did the whole, freeze, mix, freeze mix. It was looking nice and glossy and I put it in the conainter when it was fairly cold to the touch. After setting up, it was gritty! I don't understand. What would do this? Can I remelt? Should I be adding anything? Oh, and this isn't a whipped body butter, I prefer the thick, firmer types.

One more question, I am trying body butter recipes, but what I'm really looking for is a consistency of refrigerated soft butter that doesn't melt as fast when put on the skin. Should I be using a different recipe? I think I'll post a picture of the type I want later (when I figure out how), but I think the description should do for now. What recipe should I be using to get that texture?

Thanks for any help!

Christina

Not sure what recipe you are using but there may be several reason as to why you butter is gritty and not as hard as you would like.

Without the recipe it is really hard to determine the exact reason but I would take a guess and say it could be the shea butter. Check out FNWL web site they have information on how to heat the shea to stop the gritty feeling. I don't use this method so i'm not sure if it works.