gel chunks

CandlesNMore

Hi All. I’m going to apologize in advance for the long post but I have a few questions. I’ve been making candles for about 2 years now. I’m using J223 in 8 oz. jj with 1 oz of fo per lb of wax. For color I use liquid and reddig-glo. I have all these supplies on hand. I saw some pictures of gel chunk/soy candles and wanted to try it. I’ve never tried to make gel candles before so this is new to me. I did my research and read all the information on the board I could find before trying them. I tried some this past weekend but instead of soy I used J223. I got some hobby lobby gel (love that 40% off) and added ½ oz. fo per lb. I used liquid dye in the gel. I scented both Plumeria and I checked it to make sure that it was non-polarity. The J223 was uncolored with ½ oz. for 8 oz. of wax. Candles turned out great but I have a few questions.

1. Normally I would heat my jars but because of the gel chunks I was scared to heat them. I got all kinds of jump lines. How do you avoid jump lines when making this type of candle?

2. I love the way the liquid dye colored the gel but have a limited number of colors. Can Reddig-Glo dye chips be used in gel wax?

3. There is a difference in the melt point of these two candles. How will that effect the candle?

4. How will the differences in the amount of fo used effect this candle? (Not sure if I’m wording this right. Hope you know what I’m talking about.)

5. When wicking this candle will the wicks I use for J223 work fine? I use 51z in 8 oz. jj. I’ve testing the candles this week and got a full melt point within 3 hours with this wick. While reading the board about gel candles I read several post about the importance of leaving a layer of insulation around the container. Do I need to leave a layer of insulation around the container? Also what about the bottom of the candle. Do I need to crimp the wick so that it leaves an insulation layer on the bottom of the container too?