M&p Soap..did Not Lather Enough

gagal40

I MADE A SMALL BATCH OF M&P SOAP USED ALOE VERA BASE...DIDN'T ADD ANYTHING BUT COLORANT AND SCENT...MY DTR-IN-LAW USED IT...I'M NEW TO THIS SO WANTED SOMEONE TO TEST IT...SHE SAID THE SMELL LASTER, BUT IT DID NOT LATHER VERY MUCH...HOW CAN I RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM?

TKS:confused:

"It is better to give than to receive"

"Have a blessed day"

I'm new to M & P and have made some wonderfully lathering soaps using WSP bases, but I made a bar of WSP M & P the other day in which I added some castor oil and kokum butter- which turned out a nice and creamy bar BTW- but it did not bubble at all. :embarasse I got on the net and read a post by someone who uses a small amount (1.5 tsp per lb.) of Dr. Bronner's liquid soap to her melted base for extra bubbling action. I did not have that particular liquid soap on hand, but I did have some concentrated liquid soap base from WSP, and so I took my non-lathering bar of soap and remelted it and mixed in a very small amount of the liquid soap base before pouring. Now my stubborn bar suds very nicely. :D You may want to try doing something like that if your soap just won't bubble for whatever reason. HTH! :)

MarieJeanette

I was thinking what Carrie mentioned, that maybe you used too much FO and/or colorant for the amount of base soap used. ??

This is all experimentation really to see which bases work the best for you, and which ingredients help/hinder the results you're looking for in your soap.

That's why I can't just make a new type of soap and sell it right away, everything has to be tested in numerous ways before being sent out into the world. ;)

I've been useing cocamidopropyl betaine which is a bubble booster. I found it on ebay. I use about 1/2 tablespoon per 2# of M&P soap base. It works really good. I do want to try the castor oil but just keep forgeting to buy it. HTH Cindy/WI