The Purpose of Zinc Wicks ???

I've read alot of discussions on zinc wicks and some people prefer them over others and some don't. What I would like to understand is what is the performance difference. I read they are cool burning but how does this help with the burn of a candle and it's scent throw? Does it only help with the burn time and keep the temp down on the containers? Or do they seem to do better for scent throw? TIA ;)

Personally, I find a better scent throw with my votives with the zinc. I like how they stay straight and don't curl, and I don't mind the 'shroom. Some of them are very interesting!

But, take my opinion with a grain of salt, cause I'm new at this!

Thanks for the replies. I hadn't considered the zinc wicks for soy until my husband brought home a few votives from AspenBay. They had zinc wicks and they are a soy blend. They burned fantastic with no soot. Most suppliers don't recommend using the zinc with soy and now I can't help being curious,lol.

I've used zinc and have gotten excellent results. I have also tested many other types of wicks and the zinc was the best performer for my applications. However, try picking up a sampler pack of different wick types and test to see what ones work the best for you. :)

I wonder if you would have to use a larger zinc size to compensate for the lower burn temp, or would it not matter because most soy has a lower melt point anyway?? Now ya got me wondering! I feel another project coming on.

Cas, did you have to compensate one way or the other?

Now ya got me wondering! I feel another project coming on.

I know how you feel. I've tested several different types of wicks already. But I can't help wonder why a big company chooses to use zinc and gets great results but suppliers don't recommend them.