How do you make....

You can use 1343, 1274, 4045H(only sold at Candlewic), M38. and IGI 1302B ...and I think there's 1 more wax that mottles....(I think most of the straight waxes will mottle, but I'm no expert on those so not sure).

Any of those above will mottle if you use either FO or a mottling oil if you want unscented. I use 3T stearic pp of wax with any mottling wax.

They are great fun. Once you get started you'll have a house full of mottled candles!

DanaE

Thanks all. Writing down the wax types so later on I can play a little, that is if I ever get testing all the other candles I've made. I got the 8 ounce JJ down with my wicking and fo,finally got all those tested, now got to test my chunkies, grubbies and regular pillars. I will know next time to stick to one kind of candle at a time, but every time I see these great candles everyone post, I think I have to try it. But believe me I have learned a great lesson. Don't bite off more than I can chew. :rolleyes2

Oh heck, I bite off more than I can chew all the time! That's the fun of it! I'll be right in the middle of perfecting some type of candle, and then someone will post of a picture of something and I'll think "That looks cool" so I go into my laboratory and try to picture how to make it. Just keep copious notes so you won't have to retest when you have 6 experiments going on at one time :)