first time castile rebatching

rougemarie

Hello,

I'm a newbie on this board and I've been lurking for a while before I finally decided to join the list. I've thus far made 3 batches of soaps, all of them castile (100%) olive oil, just to get the technique right.

11.5 oz olive oil

1.5 oz lye

4 oz water

The first two batches failed miserably (not enough mixing) but the third one came out very nicely!

However, I used the scraps and the soap itself is very drying to my hand (I use it to wash my hand), and I don't expect this to happen since the soap is made from olive oil & according to the MMS lye calculator, it is 4-5% superfatted.

I wonder if the soap will improve over time (i.e. won't be so drying), or will rebatching help (perhaps by adding milk, extra oil, etc.)? I've read several websites and some says that if I were to do rebatching on castile, I'll have to do it within 4-6 days before the soap cures & while it's still soft. Any advice on this? Thanks a lot!

Yes soap will become more mild over time. Let it sit aside for a month (after it was made) and try it again.

You made a true castille. IMO, that soap is not at it's peak until it's cured for 6 months. Less slimey. If you don't like it now, don't give up on it. Set it up on a shelf and forget about it then try it again. I do not like castille soap until it's been aged for at least 4 months.

Another thing to check is the accuracy of your scale. You are making a fairly small batch of soap, if you are mismeasuring that lye, because of an inaccurate scale, your batch could potentially be lye heavy, and that would never been good for your skin, unless you rebatch and add more oil. Small batches could have a very small mismeasurement of lye and that is enough to make it lye heavy. Bigger batches, a small mismeasurment can be absorbed without effecting the soap too much.