preservation in sugar scrub

CDGM

I found a great a formula for a sugar scrub using a lotion base and have been trying it out on me for quite some time. Last week I sent to about 20 testers (ok so now I know I dont need quite that many testers but hey I am a newbie! lol) Everyone has loved this and I thought I would package in a malibu tube.

BUT... my problem is this. I use WSP's base and I wrote them and yes you can add to their base as long as you add more preservative. So based on figuring it has over 25% oils in it I used the Germaben at 1% of just the liquid weight not including the sugar and it melted the sugar! So the scrub is back to lotion, I went full circle!

Can anyone tell me what I possibly did wrong? Without the preservative it was wonderfully light and had a chiffon feel to it. Now its just a sticky lotion.

TIA

First, I believe you are using the wrong preservative. I just don't believe there's over 25% oils and butters in their base lotion. But who knows, you may be right? But what if you're wrong?

Sugar dissolves in water. Water is in your lotion. Since this happened when you added preservative, I'm assuming the ones you handed out for testing didn't have preservative since this is a new problem?

We need to slow waaaay down baby, for your safety as well as others. ((hugs))

I guess I should have stated that you ADD oils as well as the base.

8oz base

4oz oils

sugar

fo

Sorry if I offended by trying and testing like crazy, I thought that was how you learn.

Oh honey, you didn't offend at all. That does help in trying to figure out how to help.

Would you be willing to start from scratch for your own recipe? Making a sugar scrub is super easy, and you'll know a lot more about what's going in and how to properly preserve it.