best way to test?

Hi everyone. I've been doing the candle thing for a few months, and this board (search function) has been invaluable! I'm thankful for it as I've learned a lot and still learning! FYI, I use igi 6006 wax and 12 oz status jars. I have yet to actually perfect any candles at this time, but I'm trying.

My question pertains to testing. When I first started, I made my candles with whatever wick I wanted to test with, and if I found the wick wasn't right, I started the whole process over again by making another candle with another wick & same % f o. Later on, I found that some people make wickless candles, poke a hole in the middle, and insert a wick. If said wick wasn't right, they simply pulled out that wick and inserted another one. Once they settled on a wick, then they'd make one or two more normal candles and test those from top to bottom.

For me, that method seemed like a good idea, as it was nice not having to remake a candle every single time in order to find the right wick for starts. However, I've also read that candles burn differently from the top, middle, and bottom. I'm now wondering if this method isn't such a good way to narrow down wicks after all.

How can I test for narrowing down wicks without remaking the same candle over and over, until I've settled on a specific wick?

As of now, I have a candle curing (I was going to use the above method to narrow down a wick). I used 1oz Sweet Pea oil for 1 lb of wax. I do have 3 wick series that I like a lot, which are cotton core, lx, and htp. What should I do? I have one wickless candle already curing, but should I make 2 more with one of those wicks (make them with the wick, and not wickless)? In other words, should I do the wick pull method with the one wickless candle, or is it best for me just make 3 candles and test the 3 wicks that way?