how much should my candle cost?

Well, this is what I do...

4.88 x 2 = 9.76 that is wholesale.

4.88 x 3 = 14.64 that is LOW retail

4.88 x 4 = 19.52 that is HIGH retail.

I stay towards high retail, but more than low retail. I would not sell that candle for less than 15.00 each or 18.00 each or 2/35.00.

Alot depends on what your market will handle. Some people can only get 5.50 for a jj and others can get 8.00 or more for the same jj.

tootie

Well, this is what I do...

4.88 x 2 = 9.76 that is wholesale.

4.88 x 3 = 14.64 that is LOW retail

4.88 x 4 = 19.52 that is HIGH retail.

I stay towards high retail, but more than low retail. I would not sell that candle for less than 15.00 each or 18.00 each or 2/35.00.

Alot depends on what your market will handle. Some people can only get 5.50 for a jj and others can get 8.00 or more for the same jj.

tootie

thanks. i was going to sell my candles for $15, but i thought it would be too much, esp. since im just starting out. I thought i should sell them for $10 for now, and if all goes well, i can raise the price.

You don't want to increase your price that much at a later date, have your prices set correctly now, as slight increases are happening now in supplies. What type of jar do you use, wax, etc.? That should factor into your cost and what the market will tolerate. A few people on this board undercut themselves to make a sale, but if you do that you aren't making a good profit.

You will find out that there are a ton of candle makers and tons of people who will tell you how great Walmart and the Dollar Store candles are. Do NOT let that be your marketing guideline. Also, buy in bulk when feasible.

Also, check the spelling on pariffin.