protecting yourself-sorry long post

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to candle making and for now I just give them as gifts but I can dream of selling them someday. I recently asked a ? on the board about trademarking and incorporating etc and got some great answers.Since then I have talked to a lawyer (friend)and a financial advisor(another friend) the lawyer said that inc. and trademarking would be a smart idea and the financial guy said that I do not need to incorporate and I should wait until I make some good $ to trademark.I would like to get some of your input please.My husband is worried that we could get sued if someone burns one of my candles and God forbid a fire would start in their home.So do you thing incorporating would help?Or just extra insurance and what kind of insurance? This is waaaay in the future but still would like info. Thanks:undecided :undecided

Regardless of whether or not you incorporate or go with an LLC, I would strongly suggest you get insurance before selling anything. One good lawsuit, whether the complainant prevails or not, can ruin you financially. Never do business without insurance.

Also, if running your biz from your home, be careful, it is possible to lose your homeowners insurance when making and selling out of your home. Lots of HOI frown upon this practice. Some even frown upon just making candles in the home regardless of whether you are selling them. Check with your HO policy before proceeding with a home based biz.

I'm still sole-proprietorship at this moment. I don't do near enough to warrant anything else yet. You need to look at the benefits of both incorporating and staying sole - both from financial and tax standpoint, then ask about your insurance standpoint. Some, not all, but some insurances only cover if you are one or the other.