Advice needed on presentation.

chauntelle

I have been lucky enough to be invited to a ladies group to be one of their guest speakers and demonstrators. My friend (who makes jewllery) and me were then approached by a second unit of the same group.

I've never done anything like this before and i am as nervous as hell!!

I was hoping that somebody might be able to give me a few hints and tips.

So what ive got planned so far (please tell me if it doesnt sound quite right).

I am being supplied a table and i will be taking a cloth of my choice,probably white that drops to the floor. I have a wooden shelf which is about 3ft high to sit on top and then two sets of plastic clear shelves which i will probably display my pillars on. Next to this i will have a small table which i will use to do a demonstration.

For the demo i was going to prephare a unscented candle at home so that i could be at the point of a second pour. This way i can demonstrate from scratch and then instead of waiting i can then explain about a repour and do as i explain with the candle i prephared earlier. i can always re melt these so no supplies are lost.

I plan to keep to the point not babble or talk too fast and keepsmiling even if things do go wrong!!

After wards i will invite them to have a look at my candles and answer any questions. Do i explain how i started candle making ? how do i not show them too much that they all want to go out and make their own?

If i pull this off i could be invited back and even recommended to other groups.

I was also thinking that it might be nice to gift wrap a tart for each customer with a bussiness card attached? any thoughts.

not sure how many ladies exactly anywhere up to 40 i think! - thats just scarry enough AARRGH Im freaking out now!! lol :tongue2:

He He, I've done loads of talks to Scottish Womens rural groups when I was doing my painted glass, & usually they were a lot of fun.