Questions about tart making

DasBreenee

Hello everyone! I'm new around here.

I'm also pretty new to tart making. I've only just begun my journey into the wonderful world of trial and error of creating the perfect blend of wax. 

So far i have purchased different waxes including EcoSoya PB, Problend 400, Problend 450, Problend 600, and Problend 650. I bought all these waxes from The Flaming Candle to avoid buying in large quantities while still testing, since they sell in two pounds.

I have a couple of questions. 

When you blend two waxes that have completely different fragrance loads, what do you do? I'm assuming you would average it out? Say one wax has 6% and the other has a 12% load. Say you load it with 9% to sort of average it. What happens to the excess FO that can't be held by the wax with a lower load. Would it just.. disappear? 

Also, when blending waxes with different melt points and different FO load heats. Do you melt the waxes separate and then combine them? Or just combine and heat, does it make a difference? And finally, FO load. When they have different FO load heats, when do you add them? Average it?

Edit: Ive been considering trying 4625 with 4627, I hear good things. Does that sound good? Has anyone tried it? That's mainly why I'm asking as one seems to have a 6% load while the other has a 10-12% load. 

As of now this is still me testing and giving everything away to friends and family, but I would love to make this a side job since I have SO many ideas running through my head! 

Edited by DasBreenee

Guest OldGlory

I will try to answer some of your questions...