Preservatives in B&B

cmspath

I am wondering what are good preservatives to use in products like whipped shea butter etc.. Is vit. E good enough - or are there other types to use, I dont know that much about them - but knowing me - I probably have them.. :rolleyes:

Okay...I'm not an expert and haven't dealt with preservatives since I made lotion a few year back but...I've heard that LiquaPar and Optiphen (sp?) are good for helping to preserve body butters...at least the butters that don't require water. And it's my understanding that although Vit. E will help prolong shelf life, it should not be thought of as a preservative.

Right now, I don't add any preservatives to my body butters but am thinking about it...for fear of somebody putting wet fingers into the jar and thus contaminating the butter.

Not sure if that helps and I'm sure somebody else can answer the Q better. :)

Liquid Polymer isn't a preservative.

Many different preservatives will work in anhydrous formulas, you just have to test to see which one works with what you are doing. Here's ISPs guidelines for the preservatives they sell. http://ispcorp.com/products/preservatives/content/selguide/anhyd.html

They recommend the Liquipars. Phenonip is mfg'd by another company and works well also.

• 7 months later...

Has anyone ever used or know of a preservative without parabens in it?

Both the LiquiPar and Phenonip have parabens and I was chewed out by a lady at a show for listing this item in my ingredients. She said that parabens have been linked to possible causes of cancer (another sky is falling?).

There are paraben free preservatives. For example, the Germalls are

Liquid Germal + INCI: Propylene Glycol (and) Diazolidinyl Urea (and) Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate