Glass Container Choice Cause of Uneven Cooling?

Hi All! I have had the most difficult time with my soy wax (C3 Naturewax) cooling evenly. My tops always cool much faster then the bottom, creating crazy bubbling and air pockets, especially around the wick. My husband and I have been troubleshooting and testing for close to 6 months now and doing everything correctly, but it's close to impossible to control the cooling. We cool in a covered wooden box on a cooling rack in a 70 degree room. The only thing left that I'm wondering about is the glass I chose for our container. It's a Libbey 11 oz Heavy Base Rocks Tumbler with very thin (1/8") sides then about an 1" to an 1-1/2" heavy glass bottom. Could the thick glass bottom be messing up my cooling? I just realized it may play a part after all this time (duh!) but I'm not sure? I've been doing some searching on this forum to see if this has happened to anyone else? I did decide to place an order for the same size glass by Libbey, only with a glass bottom that has a more even width with the sides, hoping maybe that will help? Any insight is appreciated, many thanks!

Guest OldGlory

It could be causing the bottom to stay warm, and the sides and top to cool faster. But, the bottom being against a surface is going to insulate the bottom as well. I don't see a solution to cooling the bottom at the same rate the top is cooled.

Have you considered a different wax?

It could be causing the bottom to stay warm, and the sides and top to cool faster. But, the bottom being against a surface is going to insulate the bottom as well. I don't see a solution to cooling the bottom at the same rate the top is cooled.

Have you considered a different wax?

That gets my vote :) Me & C3 did not get along, lol.

I've never worked with soy but have you considered getting a cookie / pie cooling rack?

Put your jars on it, pour and cover with a cardboard box.