Is Residue/Wax Hang-Up a Negative for Customers?

Are you talking about residue left on the inside of the container? As in, unburned, unconsumed wax? Yes, I think that most customers are turned off by that. I think it leaves them with a feeling of being scammed somehow, that their money should have bought a candle that consumed all the wax in the jar. I tend to agree - if I'm calling something a 12 oz candle, then it needs to burn 12 oz of wax in order to be a legitimate 12 oz candle. Does that make sense?

If you are consistenty getting hangup, I would consider retesting your candles with a different size wick.

Thanks for the quick feedback everyone. I'm really new to candle making and and appreciate the clarification between hang-up and residue. I thought they were one in the same.

I am using the GW449 and 444 and I'm getting what I now know is a residue. It's like buttermilk on left the side of a glass - if you drink buttermilk like a good southern girl does you'll know what I'm referring to :grin2:

I've wicked up as big as I can go using ECO wicks and the new 700 series. I've been burning a set of candles, now on their 4th - 3 hr. burn and they're looking much better - just a little area of residue clinging to the sides.

I added a about 5% pure Soy to the 449 to see if that helped melt the wax a little easier but it didn't make too much difference.

Linda

If it is leaving just a slight bit of residue or hangup, I don't worry about it. Usually wicking up another size gets it too hot. I also think that my customers are happy that it burns as well as it does. Most had only bought store bought candles to have them tunnel down the middle. They are excited to get a candle that actually burns about 98%.

I do have customers ask DO THEY BURN CLEAN?Mine do.There is no hang up.If there was then I would need a larger wick but have been happy from the beginning with my wick sizes for all 3 jars I use.