Is a thermometer essential?

I'm quite new to candlemaking. Making and selling wax melts and trying to perfect votive candles. I've always used a thermometer to check when to add dyes and fragrance oils and when to pour. However a question has been asked by someone on a craft website about thermometers and lots of replies said that they didn't use one.

I assumed you had to and now wonder if I'm wrong?

I don't care how " good " or experienced I get at this........ I'm ALWAYS going to doublecheck myself so I can make the best and safest product for my customers that I can. I do understand the statement, in theory, because I do a lot of "eye ball" cooking. ( thats how I learned to cook most things from my grandmothers ), but Im not trying to sell my food either, and the most that's going to happen with it is, a cake might flop or I might put too much salt in something...

JMO

It is important to have and use an accurate thermometer when melting wax. You are working with a volatile substance that has a flashpoint. So one very important reason is for safety.

Your wax also has a meltpoint temp, a heating temp, an additive temp, and a pouring temp. Its hard to do this without a thermometer unless you have been doing this for a very long time or long enough you know what the temps are from a lot of experience. Even when you are very experienced you will still need a thermometer to periodically check your wax to always make sure you have the right temp.

So yes there are several reasons you need an accurate thermometer for melting wax. Personally I would never melt wax without one. Its just like I would never melt wax without a fire extinquisher in my candlemaking room. First and foremost is my safety. You also won't learn what your melting, heating, and cooling temps are without one.