Gas stove & candle making?

I have been making B&B for 12 years. I used to make paraffin candles also. I used an electric stovetop & it was approx 10 years ago. I now have a gas stove top & am considering adding soy candles to my line. I have been refamiliarising myself with the process & see gas stoves should not be used because of the open flame & flash point.

Given this risk, I am thinking the microwave is my best bet.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Edited by Tabitha

I have been making B&B for 12 years. I used to make paraffin candles also. I used an electric stovetop & it was approx 10 years ago. I now have a gas stove top & am considering adding soy candles to my line. I have been refamiliarising myself with the process & see gas stoves should not be used because of the open flame & flash point.

Given this risk, I am thinking the microwave is my best bet.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Hello Tabitha I am new at candle making and saw your post, I too use a gas stove but I use the double boiler method to melt wax, many others use the Presto pot and also electric plate here is a link to the forum that discuss this. have fun and welcome back :)

http://www.craftserver.com/forums/showthread.php?60780-melting-wax-with-a-gas-stove

I started on a gas stove with double boiler pots of water & huge veggie cans of melting wax. It was messy. I have wax dye stains on my white flooring. It took longer to bring the wax up to temp, ESPECIALLY palm wax! Waiting for a can of palm wax to get up to 205° in a pan of simmering water gives new meaning to the adage, "a watched pot never boils." It was the chandler's version of waiting for Godot...*shudder*

We bought Prestos and real pour pots and used the dining room for awhile... which became tedious. When the kids moved out, I took over their bedroom for candles and I love it!

Stella you've got nerve! I'd be too scared of using a stove with an open flame. I'm just way too accident prone!!