Reusing clamshell molds for personal use

emahleem

Hello,

I am new to candle making and thinking about trying to make some tarts. I am not selling anything, but I'm wondering if there are any reasons not to reuse the plastic clamshell molds for making tarts.

If there is a better option, please let me know. I have seen the single tin molds, but they are usually sold as singles and are a bit more expensive. Candlewic is my supplier because they are nearby, so I was thinking about picking up one of these trays made of polycarbonate.

Thanks!

Do you have a hobby lobby near you? In the candy section you will find all kinds of polycarbonate molds that you can use for tarts. And with their 40% off coupon you can get some deals. Get some ziploc plastic containers (with number 5 in a triangle on the bottom) and store your tarts in there - one scent per container.

ps Love your avatar!

I went to Michael's this morning and found the wall of candy melt molds in the baking section. I bought one with little hearts, but there were a lot of options. They were all $1.99, with different number of cavities depending on the size.

Just keep your eye out when shopping. I have found molds in candy/cake supply departments in Kmart; as well as some in a center aisle display for Easter themed molds. I've used both Wilton silicone and teflon molds with great success in the detail quality.