Homemade room spray

megandgarr

Hi, This is my first time posting in this section of the forum so please forgive my ignorance. Up until now I have only made tarts/melts and aroma ornies. I would like to make a room spray for personal use only (to spray in the air, on carpet, in my car, etc) but if possible I would like to use homemade and/or store bought products to test and see if I like it before placing an order for a pre-mixed linen/room spray base. I used the search feature but since the results left out a huge chunk of time, I am hoping you all can help me...

I found an older recipe which calls for distilled water, witch hazel, FO, and a preservative of choice. Is a preservative necessary if I will only be using this for myself? I dont mind if it is cloudy and I will know to shake before using. If a preservative is necessary, is there something I can buy at the grocery store?

Last question, if I only want to make a small 4 oz bottle, can anyone please provide me with the specific amounts that I should use (distilled water, witch hazel, FO, etc)? Thank you all so much!

Got any vodka? :) This one uses vodka as the preservative, lol

....1 cup vodka. Vodka helps to freshen and preserves the spray, but in a pinch, it’s not necessary. Your house will smell clean even without the alcohol.

Can I ask where you found this? This recipe just seems like an incredibly high FO load. I'm new to the sprays, and just curious.

Thanks,

B

It was a mom-blog type of thing... I didn't even notice, lol. Sorry, I'm so tired....

When I did one, I just used a few drops in a 4 oz bottle and it was plenty.

I use witch hazel, alcohol, and water with 1/4-1/2 oz. of FO or EO in a 12 oz. spray bottle. One drop of dishwashing detergent makes it stay mixed mo' better.

Play with the ingredients - it's not hard...

Two warnings:

go easy on the alcohol 'cause it can mar the finish of some furniture