my first soy containers

Hello all, last night I poured my first few jars using GB 464 with 6% FO. over all I am happy with the way it all worked out. So far the cold throw is vary good. I have not done any burn test yet. I am having one small issue though, I believe it is frosting on the sides? I am pre heating the jars warm warm to the touch and pouring at and adv 135 deg room temp at 68-72deg.. what is the typical cause for frosting? jars not warm enough, pour temp too hot/cold etc. Please see the photos and if you have any suggestions please let me know.

Thank you in advance.

post-12298-13945847445_thumb.jpg

post-12298-139458474456_thumb.jpg

I'm not an expert because I just started making candles, but I quickly found I was having the same problem. I found a tip somewhere to put the containers on a cookie cooling rack to let the air get to the bottom, then a cardboard box over the candles to help retain the heat and slow the cooling process. That helped tremendously. House temp plays a factor too, so make sure you turn up the heat a tad if it's getting cold outside where you're at.

Oh, and before you get too excited and pouring a ton of candles, test your wicks. I found I wasn't using the right sizes. Apparently for soy you have to "wick up" a few sizes. I still haven't found the right wicks that I like, but at least I'm closer and creating a pool that reaches the edges.

Edited by wiscwicks

They could be cooling too fast, could be the colour or the iol you are using. What frosts for one person may not do do for another. My spiced cranberry no matter what I do to it frosts. Dont know why, but it just does. Such is life. Generally my customers do not worry about the frosting, all they want is a great smelling candle that burns well.