Any pointers for my first show?

aesnyder

So I am setting up a booth at a local Christmas Event Dec. 3 and 4th. I am just going to offer tarts and maybe some tart gift baskets. We live in a small town but this Christmas Event is usually quite large, but this year they are only having less than 20 vendors, which I will be one of them. But during this event, there will be a huge Christmas parade, which I think the whole town goes too! :) Since I have never done anything like this before, how much would you suggest that I take? I was thinking about 400-500 tarts and about 10 or 20 gift baskets. Is that overshooting for two days or undershooting? I just don't want to make way too much product, which hopefully if I do I can sell it later. But I also don't want to lose out on any money. Any suggestions for the whole booth thing? I am going to have a tart burner going so when they walk in, they can smell my products and hopefully that will draw them to buying some! Any information would greatly be appreciated!

Definately bring as much as you can pack. Always better to have too much than to run out and miss making a few bucks. Also, this is a no-brainer, but sometimes overlooked in the rush...bring plenty of small bills and coins to make change! Also, never hurts to inquire of the customer if they want to pay with smaller bills at checkout. Some people seem to go for larger bills in their wallet when the have a boatload of ones and fives. Running out of change can be a bummer when you are busy.

HTH

Steve