New to candle making and need some guidance.

I've been wanting to try candle making for quite some time now, and have finally decided to give it a go. I've bought some of the basic supplies but need some help on choosing the right wax to start with. I want to start out by making container candles using a mid sized jar, as well as the tart bars using the clamshells. I'm leaning towards either a soy wax, or possibly a blend of soy and paraffin. Any input is greatly appreciated. :cheesy2:

Hi Storm,

I'm relatively new to candle making too but I wanted to respond to something you've said. When I introduced myself to this forum, I was given the advice to start with votives. They may appear to be a stand alone candle but they're actually a container candle (using pillar wax) since they should be burned in a tight fitting container. They're a good place to start no matter what wax or type of candle you'd like to make. Also, in my reading of this forum (many hours), I think it's safe to say that a quality container candle is harder to produce than non-candlemakers think. Therefore, I would dare to say that you might want to think of votives as your first project and read lots of threads in this forum. Votives will give you a smaller project to learn to experiment with wick choice, placement, pour temps, cooling rates...it all makes a difference.

That said...read and "listen" to the advice from the experienced candlemakers here--and welcome!