Thermometer Recommendations

I have a two-part question for seasoned chandlers (no newbies, please!)

In another thread, catlover asked me a good, simple question of interest to all candle makers that I did not qualified to answer:

Have you found any particular type (of thermometer) to be more reliable?
Since I'm not a prolific chandler, I hope that others who have been making lots of candles for many years will share their experiences on this subject.

I have been using el cheapo thermometers from the kitchen departments of WallyWorld, the grocery store, etc. - two are digital, several are the coil "dial" type and one mercury candy thermometer (at least 30 years old!). Obviously, their accuracy is hit & miss, so I see a potentially good reason to get off my wallet and buy some higher quality thermometers IF paying more nets a more accurate, long-lived instrument.

The way I tested mine was to stick them in water brought to a rolling boil, which, at sea level, should read 212°F. I found that no two of them read the same, none read 212°F and that there was a 12° difference among them! :shocked2:

So, my questions are:

What type/brand of thermometer have y'all found to be more accurate over a long period of time?

In your opinion, does spending more really offer greater accuracy and longevity or should one stick with many el cheapos that one tests regularly and discards when they begin lying?

TIA :)

I'm still pretty much a newbie, but the thermometer issue is one that I tackled pretty early on.

Bought a Yaley thermometer at Michael's Art store. Mercury, clipped into the double boiler pour pot.

I think it was accurate in the area it was located in on the side of the pour pot. It broke easily one day when I just set it down. I bought another mercury thermometer from another company. Same story.

Then I looked into digitals. They were $109 at the candle supply websites.

Bought one on E-Bay from China for $14.95. Took three weeks to arrive on the slow boat.