blending palm

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to candlemaking and, so far, want to focus on beeswax and palm waxes. I have feather palm and crystal palm, as well as beeswax, and a pound or so of soy 125. (I also have two pounds of a Yaley paraffin blend for pillars.)

The extent of my candlemaking (plus online research and exposure to a couple of books) is this: I've made a pound of feather palm votives that came out great. I did learn not to make the little top edge over the lip of the votive mold because of the brittle nature of the palm wax. I've also made a few sets of beeswax votives and a ball candle. (My first two candles were beeswax and soy blend votives (it's what I had on hand) but I had trouble with the wicks since they were for paraffin.) I currently have a palm pillar kit from Candlewic and a bunch of supplies I've picked up...including Eco-2 and CSN-9 wicks from CS for votives.

I was wondering if all palm wax has the fracture effect? I was interested in a pillar veggie blend wax through Candlewic but it costs more than the pure palm waxes. If I blend palm and beeswax, will it have any mottling/fracturing qualities? If I blend a little beeswax with palm will the resulting blend be less brittle and still have some crystal effects? Can you use palm oil to blend into palm wax to increase the fragrance load or make a mottling blend the way some people use coconut oil?

I can see so far nobody has been able to answer your question, sorry. I have blended a tiny amt of beeswax with soy and it did good, but beeswax is pricey. I personally wouldn't blend beeswax with anything other than soy if your intent on doing that.

What kind of palm oil are you talking about, that might be a new thing to try, but how are you thinking of blending it? And what kind?

Soy