My first Feathered Palm Pillars

nadiap

My work is no-where near the class of some of the other photos I've seen here, (I'm only a newbie :-) but after a disastrous day of container candle testing, thought I'd at least show what did turn out well for me - or at least I think they look ok <lol> The 'tubby pillar does have a little spillage (over-run - not sure what you'd call it) at the bottom, but I don't think it gives it a 'bad look' (or at least I hope not).

Using Feathered Palm Wax

FO is Holly Berry and the colour should have been darker, but I can live with what I have. Also a pics of the matching small pillar and votives. I had set up a display for taking other photos, so threw these into the shots to dress them up a little :-)

Are they looking Ok, to you experts out there ??

post-11497-139458459541_thumb.jpg

post-11497-139458459545_thumb.jpg

post-11497-139458459547_thumb.jpg

Edited by nadiap

Lovely! You've done well. Palm is such a beautiful wax to work with.

What I do with that little bit of 'spillage" is put my heat gun on the lowest setting and hold the candle straight and melt that little bit of excess wax off....carefully!

Not sure what everyone else does about that but I prefer that it's not there.

Tracy

I was thinking of doing that, but didn't want to bugger up the whole candle if something went awry :-) I'm presuming I'd lose some of the 'feathering at the bottom if I did that though - right? or as long as it was a gentle sweep of the heat gun it shouldn't affect it too much ?

PS: Love your work btw :-)

Those candles are just stunning! One of these days I'd lov to make a jar candle in the feather palm.....And your display is absolutely beautiful, especially the last picture. Try setting your camera to macro just to tweek it a bit to make it sharp...Gorgeous job and that peach color I just love!!!

Trappeur