Please help! I'm desperate!!

I am a newbie and just made a batch of candles to give away as Christmas gifts. I have had several burn without major incident until I burned one today and the wicks keep drowning in their 2" melt pool!! Hopefully it is just this scent and not all of the candles are ruined, but I need to get this corrected before Christmas! HELP!!!!

Wax: GB 464

Wick: Double wicked 51-32-18 zinc

Container: 16oz Apothecary jar

I also have CD 20 wicks... would these work better or should I order new ones??

ANY suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank you!!!

We often get these posts at this time of year. People seldom listen when we tell them the truth, so I don't have a lot of hope -- but here goes:

I very much understand your desire and intentions, but as a newbie you shouldn't be thinking about making candles as Christmas gifts. You can't expect to just develop a line of scents out of the blue, let alone with just a few odd wicks in your posession. In fact, you don't have enough time to both gain enough candlemaking experience or properly test anything to sell or give away this year.

So the reason you feel desperate is because you are doing the wrong thing. Do yourself and your loved ones a favor and go out and buy some candles. I guarantee it will end up being so much easier and safer and more satisfying for everyone. Look forward to giving out your very own creations next Christmas.

Edited by topofmurrayhill

People make all kinds of crafts at Christmas. In fact, they sell candlemaking kits at many craft stores, so I respectfully disagree with Top's statement. I actually commend ashleylynn8888 for seeking out a candle forum, looking for advice from professionals in an attempt to make a safer, better candle for gift-giving.