Furniture polish recipe

Jeana

Ok I know this isn't bath, body, or cosmetics but I don't know where else to put this. Anyway,

I made a recipe for furniture polish that I would like to share and ask advice from anyone who makes natural house cleaners.

I only made a small batch total of 10.25 oz

Here is the recipe:

Water 8 oz (78%)

Ewax 1 oz (10%)

Olive Oil .75 oz (7%)

Vinegar .25 (2%)

Lemon oil .25 (2%)

I heated everything together, whipped it with a mixer, let it cool, then put it in a spray bottle.

I love the consistency not watery at all, and it smells refreshing. My only concern is that it doesn't leave a shine on the furniture afterward. Could this be because of the vinegar? Or should I up the amount of OO?

Are there other EOs that are safe to use on wood besides Lemon?

I'm not an expert by any means whatsoever, but I'd be concerned about having vinegar in any recipe that goes onto finishes. I know it eats through car paint (don't ask), I would assume it does the same for all finishes over time, even in small amounts. If it's not shining, it could possibly be the vinegar eating at the fresh shine before.

Here is a couple of recipes I pulled up online: (note none have vinegar)

Polish wood with 2 tsp. lemon oil and 1 pint mineral oil in spray bottle. Spray, rub in and wipe clean.

Mix two parts olive oil to one part lemon juice. After rubbing the mixture in, let stand for several hours and then polish with a soft, dry cloth.

Melt 1 tbsp. carnauba wax into two pints mineral oil. Use sparingly and rub hard.

I did find one that called for White Vinegar and Lemon Juice.

Then I found some that called for Beeswax, Carnuba Wax, Linseed Oil and Turpentine.

Maybe for your recipe do what is listed in the first one posted here and go back a couple hours later and polish with the soft dry cloth. Maybe then you will see the shine.

Dunno though as I have never tried any of these.

Angi

Oh shoot.