What is the MOST FO you can put per lbs of wax?

What is the MOST FO you can put per lbs of wax and is there a FO best brand or company to order from? I'm new to making candles. I find the stuff at the craft store (HobbyLobby, etc..) is about along the lines of the wally world of candle scents!!! I'm guessing those brands are cut with something. So far the candles I've made are very pretty but stink and smell like wax. I'm having the same problem with the die chips/blocks. Not much color at all so I'm guessing there has to be something way better!!

Welcome to your new obsession. It's all about test, test, testing your products. Your best bet starting out is to find a supplier that is close to where you live. The farther away, the more you will pay for shipping. If you can pick up wax, jars, scent, etc., you will save mucho denero when you start figuring your costs.

As far as how much fragrance can be added to wax, it will all depend on what wax you choose. There are some out there that will only let you use 3-6 percent fragrance. Others will hold up to 20 percent but that is pretty rare. Find a reputable supplier and order a starter kit. Figure out if you want to start out with votives or do you want to do jar candles? Wax will be the biggest determination. Soy, palm or paraffin? Or a soy-paraffin blend?

If you'd like, just pm me here and I'll help you figure out who is the closest supplier to you so that you can get started.

I remember in the beginning just scouring suppliers sites and marveling at all of the products that you could make. Heck, I still do! I just try to hold back and not break the bank!

I must stress again, test, test, test all your creations.

There is a sticky at the top of this page "supplier by state" you can see who is closest to you. That is important with shipping costs being so high.