Opinion on recipe

Rosies

Newbie here wanting to make a very small batch of soap

(21 oz.) and would like your opinions on it. I don't have the confidence I need in myself on reading the lye calc yet plus I haven't made any soap yet and that's why I want your opinions, Here's my recipe;

10 oz. Olive

4 oz. coconut

2 oz. castor

1 oz. stearic acid

2 oz. sweet almond

1 oz. shea butter

Water 5 to 8 oz.

Lye 2.80 oz.

I'm trying for a mild, bubbly, hard and moisturizing bar.

What if any changes do you suggest?

BTW, I love this site!

Guest jurnalynn

did you run this through a lye calculator your lye is off i'm new at this i think you better start out by playing around with the lye calculator and learning how to use it i spent a long time plugging in a lot of different numbers and learning what each thing on it meant it was helpful when i settled on a recipe i understood it then........as for the oils used i'm not qualified to answer on those and i have never used steric in soap

Laura

I suggest converting your recipe to % lol.

Welcome to the site!

Finding the kind of bar you want is going to take a lot of practice. Best advice I ever got was "Just make the damn thing and stop freaking out, K?" (Could have sworn that was what she said lol!)

So made it and spent a lot of time revising from it to find the combination of what I like. About 40 recipes, maybe. Sooooo, suggest that first you understand the lye calculator you are working with, plug in your oils. Make that first batch and start jockeying oils around from there. Seriously.

I agree with Scented. Cept I'd add that you should leave the stearic acid out. That's not something for a beginner to play with, and you can make fabulous soap without it. If you want to keep essentially the same recipe put that amount toward the coconut.

Mild you got (50% olive), bubbly... not so much. Try QiuetGirl's recipe in the recipe section (but make it with water, not milk).