My candle making.

Hi, I'm new, but have been reading here for several weeks and learning a great deal. I've made candles for many years. I am not a professional and dont have the intent, but love to make a good product for my own use, and occasionally for gifts, with aethetics and safety the two main concerns.

I'm sure most of you will cringe with my supply source, but I am very frugal and except for wicking, hardly ever buy supplies in stores. I shop yard sales and have collected used candles for years. Occasionally I'll find someones old candle making supplies, and will get them too. Over they years I've purchased molds, dyes, additives, even slabs of unused wax, but mostly it's partially burned candles. Fortunately I do not have to make a consistent product. ;)

The downside is I never really know everything about the materials I am working with. But the upside is I end up with some very interesting scents and colors. And the price is right. :grin2: Just last week I purchased a partially burned 7 pound indigo candle with very appealing scent for $1.

Right now I am making extra large tealights (2 and 3/4 inch wide) in a variety of colors. I got 40 of the larger glass holders at a sale for very little and they are very appealing to me.

Also over they years I've purchased at sales many traditional candle holders, my favorite of which is a pair of very old iron floral holders that require 5 larger tapers each, about an inch wide at the bottom. So I dipped my own to fit. Actually while I was at it, I dipped about 80 or so of them.

Anyway, I'm having great fun, and am very grateful to have found this group so I can learn more about some of the more sophisticated aspects of candle making.

Hi and welcome! :grin2: