My first recipe

botanica

Hi there! I'm a soaping newbie, and have started to figure out a good recipe. I put my info into soapcalc.com, and am wondering if anyone has thoughts on these fatty acid percentages? Some are 0, and I don't know if I should adjust anything because of that? I don't know a whole lot about fatty acids, but my soap quality percentages were good. Thanks!!!!

Lauric 14

Linoleic 10

Linolenic 0

Myristic 6

Oleic 45

Palmitic 15

Ricinoleic 0

Stearic 2

Thank you so much for your replies! It has been interesting plugging in different numbers of my available oils...

So, with the oils I have on hand, this is what I came up with...

40% almond(sweet)

30% coconut (is this too much coconut??)

10% macadamia

20% palm oil

(I also have sunflower and canola but thought I should leave them out to avoid DOS? And I also have olive and veg. shortening-the generic kind).

The qualities all seem on target, maybe?:

hardness: 38

cleansing:20

conditioning: 55

bubbly lather: 20

creamy lather: 18

iodine: 61

INS: 157

So what do you experts think? Any help is much appreciated, seriously! I was thinking of doing this hp really soon because I'd like to use it asap (:

I'm probably the odd woman out, but I believe the fatty acid numbers that you posted would make a great soap. Even though the stearic is low, your lauric, myristic, palmitic and oleic (which makes for quite a hard soap over time), make up for it. I have a couple of recipes with a similar fatty acid profile, and the resulting soaps are good and hard in spite of the low stearic # (my stearic was 5).

It's perfectly fine to have 0 for linolenic. It's actually very rare to get anything higher than 0 or 1 for that acid.

As for ricinoleic acid, unless your recipe has castor oil in it, you'll always get a 0. Castor oil is the only oil with ricinoleic acid in it.