just some comments on "high end" candles

I'm fairly new to the art of candle making and have been pretty hard on myself as far as perfect containers,packaging and waxes that I test and so on etc.I know we all want to make the "perfect" candle-one that burns well and has a great throw so I went out on a very expensive mission to see just how well the "high end" candles burned compared to my own testers and here is a little of what I found.I am testing with soy so I purchased primarily soy candles but a few were a soy blend.I paid any where from 20.00 for 7 oz to 38.00 for 10 oz and so far I've tested 6 different brands that have beautiful packaging and a great scent throw but they burn about the same as mine do except some of their wicks are off center and one of them was very underwicked,just as the room filled with their great scent the wick was barely able to stay lit.So what I think I'm trying to say here is I think it may be all be in the packaging that makes these candles sell.If I did not make candles would I buy one of these?probably yes but I would not be a repeat customer and THAT is what I'm working on, not just getting someone to love your candles but to want them again and again.So do you think the average consumer really pays attention to the burn quality or do they purchase just for scent and looks??? Thanks for reading and your opinion.

They do both. Some are into the high end candles just because the tradename is well known or they think because it costs an arm and a leg to buy it must be a good candle!

When I bought candles (before I started making my own) I would always buy ones that I recognized the name on and had purchased from before. So I always bought them from my own experience of burning brand name candles. Thats because I got tired of buying an unknown candle on a whim that turned out crappy.