Lye on Clearance

JacquiO

I went to Lowe's yesterday and found the Roebic 2lb lye was on clearance for $6.19.

I purchased four but now I'm upset. I don't know if they're clearancing to clear out old stock or because they don't plan on carrying it any more which means having to resort to the internet and paying shipping. Yuk!

Our Lowes does not even carry it because of the meth probleme so it could be that they are clearancing it for good. :confused:

The one around here has not had it for quite some time either. I have been ordering it online for about 2 years now. Shipping is typically close to or more than the actual lye :(

Those damn meth heads spoiling it for everyone!!! :mad:

And this is the reason why I can't get it where I live either. NONE of the hardware stores or lumber yards sell it anymore because of the meth problems here. I was told by the department manager at Lowe's that it went on clearance about 6 months ago for the very reason that Meridith stated so you may want to ask your local Lowes dept. mgr. if that is the case in your state too. First it was cold medicines, I had to show ID for now this. It really sucks that now if I want to learn how to make CP or HP soap, I'll have to order it online. What's even worse all the suppliers I see that sell lye online are all on the west coast....:(

I'm going to have to get creative like southern.scents. I doubt I can get it as low as she gets it. She's pretty fortunate to have a source like that.

I have a friend who's hubby owns a plumbing business. I'm going to check with him before ordering online. But for now I have plenty thanks to the clearance sale.

I'm going to have to get creative like southern.scents. I doubt I can get it as low as she gets it. She's pretty fortunate to have a source like that.

I have a friend who's hubby owns a plumbing business. I'm going to check with him before ordering online. But for now I have plenty thanks to the clearance sale.

He....lol..