Newbie..Testing questions

I am new to this and have just made my first container (tin travel candles 4oz & 16oz. I purchased 2 different kits to try out. One was golden brands but I don't know which number and the other is Ecosoy. I don't know which wicks I have been given, but I am testing each in each wax, My comparison is wax 1 with wick 1 wax 1 with wick 2. and wax 2 with wick 1, wax 2 with wick 2. The fragrance is the same in each.

I will be testing again when I order the exact products, (ie- I'll know exactly what I am buying. These kits were fine for a first timer. My question is....

What exactly am I testing for when I do a test burn. I have been reading these boards for hours, but I haven't found the answer I am needing, so can someone point me in the right direction.

I was only planning to do tin container candles, 4, 8, & 16oz.

I hope I supplied the correct information. Thanks

In general, what I look for during test burns is:

1. Is this the right size wick for this wax, container combo?

2. How well does this scent throw?

3. Safety? Does it get too hot? Is the flame too high?

4. Smoking, soot or mushrooming?

5. How quickly does it burn?

I have to retest everytime something changes such as size, new FO etc.

Everyone has different things that they want from their candles. I would find out what wicks you are using and the size so that you have a jumping off point.

First, you need to know the exact wax you are using and the exact wick. If you purchased a kit, contact the supplier and ask them what kind of wax and what wicks and sizes were included - they DO know! :wink2: Otherwise, you don't really know what you are testing nor what to reorder if you like something or avoid if you don't!! For now, keeping them as wick 1 and wick 2 will suffice...

Here's what I do...