M&P recipe advice needed please....

FunFlames

I made a batch with the following recipe. My problem is that the bars are a bit brittle and crumbly when you get to the center. Instead of bending when they get thin they break and crumble.

I am not sure what is doing it. Now they do have a very bubbly and creamy lather which is very nice.

1lb SFIC shea base

1 TB shae butter

1 TB CO (76)

2 TB liquid ivory (for bubbles till I get my glycerin)

1 tsp. vanilla lavender FO

Any and all help would be appreciated. I am quite new to adding things. I was kinda making a similar batch with out the liquid soap, it didn't have a great bubbly lather but was softer. Should I maybe cut back on the ivory?

TIA

Danielle

I think your recipe looks great.. not sure what your culprit is for the hard crumbly center.. but how much use do you get out of the bar before it gets to that point? If it's plenty then I wouldn't even worry about the end of the bar. Using liquid soap is a great sub for your glycerine and your other ingredients look fab! You might try another type of liquid soap to see if it still does the same thing~

dgotts1 I've always been one to add more than a T of additive to a pound of base and trust me, if you add the right stuff you won't be missing ANY lather or bubbly! ;) Especially if you use a good quality base!

PA.... I do seem to get a good amount of time out of the bar.... but it has a lot left when it crumbles. Like it should still be holding together. Ivory is the only liquid I have that isn't really scented. I do have some B&BW stuff. Maybe I will try that. Oh I just remembered I have B&BW vanilla lavender LS. OH I am really happy now as that is the FO I wanted to use!!:D

I read, read and read some more on this site to get the ideas. Many of your posts!! LOL

dgotts1.... not sure what FCO is. Oh wait, it just hit me. To add hardness and lather to the bar. It works too. I first made bars with only FO and color. Additives really make it much nicer.