jar question

Guest meredean

Guest meredean

ok Ive been making candles for a couple of years now always used 8oz jj & tins, a couple of months ago I decided to get new jars so I got 8oz tumblers(fillmore) and 8 oz Frosted metro (jar store) just thought they had a nicer look & pretty much same size as the jj. So I wicked them the same as jj and have changed wicks several times w/cd Htp & cotton(thinking this was the problem) with scents that are my normal strong ones and they have no scent throw what so ever ,The metro has alittle throw but nothing like the jj and the tumbler there is nothing, I feel like ive sniffed my brains out trying to smell them..its driving me crazy!!

Guest meredean

ky125, yeah I know how it works Ive been doing this for awhile.I just dont understand Im doing everything the same, just new jars, and now they do not scent the same as did my jj.

Thanks for the reply:smiley2:

Mere

Mere, changing containers can give anyone fits trying to get the wicking and hot throw balanced. You said you were disappointed with the throw, but you didn't mention how the new containers are burning...

All I can suggest to you is what I do when I am stumped - I go back to solid footing. First, I would make two candles with a FO I have used previously and KNOW works well for me in the old jar and tin, using the same size wicks as worked before. Let 'em cure a few days and see if they burn and throw as before.

If you are successful in reproducing your previously acceptable results, make the same batch again (same FO), but this time, pour it into the new containers, making 3 of each. Use the same wick as you used in the jelly jar in one, and one step up and one step down in wick size on the other two. See how those go and you'll know whether you need to wick up more or wick down a little.