Now look what you've started lol

honebun

Well Scented and JV you now have me determined to crack this rustic pillar thing. I've had a few attempts at the rustics, here are the latest efforts. The brown one had no vybar in it, really didn't like it has nasty snowflake looking clumps through it and had to pratically dig it out of the mold. The two mauve and white ones have vybar in them no snowflakes but not very rusticky :( Also got me a measuring spoon so I now get proper tbsp too. Should I try and stick with not using the vybar and up the temp for adding the stearic :confused: so want to get these nailed

post-7695-139458436097_thumb.jpg

Sarah, I'm a rustic newbie but I think we are suppose to add stearic and pour cool (150 - 155 F) for the rustic effect. The hotter you pour the more likely to get snowflakes. At least that is what my notes say. I have 3 T of stearic/lb of wax in my notes. Don't know if that is for all rustics or just those made with 4045H.

It can be so confusing. Keep playing. You are getting some great layers.

sarah

they look brilliant

next time i order something from you via ebay please dont be afraid to slip one of the mauve ones in the parcel, purely so i can test one for you :cheesy2: :cheesy2:

will look brill in my bedroom, sorry did im say a great independant candle tester!!!:cheesy2: :cheesy2:

well done

andrea

Yep I'm pouring at 150 I just added the stearic at 180 thought it might help to make mix better. Adding 3 tbsp of stearic as well and its very chilly in here weatherman just said it was going to drop to 0 degs tonight so its certainly not too warm in here lol. I seem to be doing what everyone else is, maybe its the wax :smiley2: I shall keep trying, thanks everyone